1st time using a obs and 1st briskett

Started by mlp311, October 08, 2011, 08:54:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mlp311

http://www.susanminor.org/forums/showthread.php?532-Brisket-Pachanga
This is my first attempt at using an OBS and my first time to smoke a brisket. I'm using the above process / recipe. If you see that I'm doing anything wrong along the way, please don't hesitate to let me know.

I started with a 10lb packers cut. I believe I trimmed as I should and didn't cut to much of the fat off. I read in several posts that you should wet age briskets for 3 to 4 weeks, but I don't have that patience I want some brisket now.

Above trimming.

Seasoning. I found the butt rub in the store where I bought my brisket. Figured I could give it a try.

Lathered in mustard.
After applying the rub and lathering in mustard, I wrapped in plastic wrap and put in the fridge. When I get up in the morning, I'm going to fire up the OBS and put her in. Any suggestions other than the process / recipe I've linked above?

classicrockgriller

Sure wish you would have came to the Forum and ask some questions first but,

Welcome to the Forum.

mlp311

Thanks, I've been reading the forum. What have I done wrong thus far?

Habanero Smoker

Hi mlp311,

Welcome to the forum.

You are doing fine. Forum members use several way of preparing brisket, using Pachanga's recipe is a good place to start and finish, so I would continue to follow his recipe. My only concern so far is using a seasoning made for pork on beef.

Just a few suggestions. Since you have one, place the brisket on the middle position of the smoker. If you have a separate probe for the cabinet, place in under the rack away from the meat. I usually use the front right corner of the rack. For beef I generally use oak bisquettes, that includes the Jim Beam, and apply only 4 hours of smoke. 

I
         don't
                   inhale.
  ::)

Tenpoint5