Casings

Started by nodak, December 17, 2005, 08:02:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

nodak

newbie here. been lurking here for a week thinking you all have an obsessive problem[:D] with your smokers now I'm actually joining ya'll[:o)].

Smoker came this week and I might try seasoning it today when I go outside to push snow it's about 10F here, so trying to work up the ambition in the weather.

Was wondering what kind of casings are best when I make sausage, I don't like a tough casing.

thanks.

iceman

If your making link sausage such as Italian or Brats or something of that nature, natural hog or sheep casing is the way to go. You can get it just about anywhere or mail order it. It comes in hobby packs or full hanks packed it salt and keeps just about forever. You just rinse and flush it and start stuffing. Salami and Summer sausages are normally stuffed in a fiberous casing and then dried and smoked. Same source as before. I'm sure Olds or Gordo or any of the guys here can get you hooked up with a source close to your home.Welcome to the site nodak and don't let the weather slow you down. Get that thing up and running and start enjoying the finer things in life.Smoke it if ya got it. Enjoy and happy holidays.[:D]

Big or small you can smoke'm all!!!

nodak

Thanks for the info iceman. I can find them locally just wasn't sure what would be the most tender.

Wish I wud've found this site b4 I ordered my bradley. thought it was going to be a little easier to keep temp constant in it.  I like the set it and forget it concept.  Maybe someday I'll add it on if I use my smoker a lot so I can justify it to myself, I'm kinda tight that way and if i wait long enough i can talk myself out of it.

IKnowWood