Pucks Won't Auto Feed

Started by dwray01, November 13, 2011, 10:33:46 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

dwray01

Just bought new original smoker.  Hooked up system, and when I started using it the pucks would not automatically advance.  Just wondering if anyone has some info.  I have no experience with these.  As I said it's just my first time using it.  Thanks for any info.

beefmann

open up the  smoke generator,  removing only the outer screws , attach any  loose connections,  that go only to the smoke generator motor  or control motor, some times they  get  moves about and come  loose

mikecorn.1

Ditto on beefmans post. Usually the problem is that the pucks keep advancing indicating a bad micro switch. I would venture to say that it's a loose connection.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Mike

Habanero Smoker

If the above help doesn't work, can you provide more information.

Do you hear a motor running, trying to advance the bisquettes?

Does it manually feed when you push the advance button?

Is the feeder tube inserted properly so that its position is straight up?

Here is a link to some trouble shooting tips. It will also help you narrow done what the problem could be:
Bradley FAQ's

I
         don't
                   inhale.
  ::)

tsquared

If, as Habs has asked, your motor is trying to advance the puck but failing, try this low tech solution: Get a piece of wood trim long enough to reach from front to back of your smoker box. Put the trim under the 2 legs on the generator side of the box which will give a slight downhill slant to the pucks as they get moved along to the burner. I used to have trouble with intermittent puck feed and ripped apart my generator to clean and grease everything a couple of times to no avail. My wife suggested giving the pucks a downhill run by using the trim and I've never had a problem since.
T2

manxman

I had a mechanical problem with the puck advance mechanism in that the drive rods were either
misaligned or damaged.