Dual Element Mod

Started by JZ, November 14, 2011, 10:19:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JZ

After reading the dual element mod information / instructions I was wondering if there is some reason that a jumper cannot be installed from the two ends of the original element to the two ends of the second element, instead of going into the back of the cabinet and tying into the clip?

I am not an electrician and maybe there is some glaring reason that I cannot think of. Oh I have the DBS, if that makes a difference.

Habanero Smoker

Many have done this. It is safer with the DBS, but if you have the OBS you may want to by past the slider control. It was not manufactured to control 1000 watts. A second issue, is that you are placing an extra load on the in-line fuse and the high temperature sensor; though I have'nt read any reports of any problems in any of the issues I've mentioned.

I
         don't
                   inhale.
  ::)

beefmann

Quote from: JZ on November 14, 2011, 10:19:26 PM
After reading the dual element mod information / instructions I was wondering if there is some reason that a jumper cannot be installed from the two ends of the original element to the two ends of the second element, instead of going into the back of the cabinet and tying into the clip?

I am not an electrician and maybe there is some glaring reason that I cannot think of. Oh I have the DBS, if that makes a difference.

i would say no, just for the  simple reason that you  now have no control over the  heat in the cabinet, if you  were to go with a pid then yes and  run both heaters off of the pid and not  use any of the bradley  wireing  execpt to the  heaters and smoke generator

TedEbear

Quote from: JZ on November 14, 2011, 10:19:26 PM

That's exactly how I have mine wired.  Just two 3-4 inch pieces of high temp wire with ring terminals going from the end of one element to the other and then just one wire on each side extends out the back of the chamber.