Hot dog question?

Started by Bodine, January 05, 2012, 07:08:52 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bodine

I want to make hot dog, do I have to smoke them or can I just cook them in water. I want them to be like the one in the store but without all the crap they put in. I know about not putting the cure if I don't smoke them but what I don't know will the taste good without the smoking. I am a newbie can you tell?

Kevin A

I've seen recipes where, in lieu of smoking franks, the recipes call for the addition of liquid smoke.
Just be careful of the amount used as too much of it will make the end product inedible.

No cure necessary if you're making fresh franks & you keep them refrigerated before poaching them. They wont have the recognizable 'pink' the cure imbues upon the dogs, but they'll taste fine.

There are plenty of REAL frank experts here, so I'd wait & let them chime in on your query.

?Kevin

Bodine

Thanks for your reply. I guess I will smoke them, I want them pink, I just didn't want them to be the color of pepperoni. That's what I thought would happen with the smoke. So you're saying they will be pink if I smoke them? Does it depends on the recipe?

Kevin A

Quote from: Bodine on January 05, 2012, 09:45:27 AM
Thanks for your reply. I guess I will smoke them, I want them pink, I just didn't want them to be the color of pepperoni. That's what I thought would happen with the smoke. So you're saying they will be pink if I smoke them? Does it depends on the recipe?