Bad Element or ????

Started by Sgood, February 09, 2012, 06:10:29 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Sgood

I am new to the bradley, I only have 2 smokes done on a new DBS. My problem is, I was going to make some jerky this morning and for some reson my cabinet is staying at ambient temp. It did rise about 20 degrees with the smoker plate running but, no more. I tried taking a computer cable and plugging the cabinet in seperate from the smoker (in case something was loose) Still didn't work....

Is there any other testing that can be done to make sure it is the element and not something else? Or is that the likely cause of no heat? As I said this is only the third time of me using the bradley, it is new.... minus about 25hrs.

lumpyk

Sounds Like the element went bad.  Yes if you have a multimeter you can remove the element and check for continuity.  You want to remove at least the one end to make sure you are not getting continuity through the wire itself.  You just want to check the element.  Saying this I do forget what the number should be I wanna say 12 or 13 but I am not 100% sure.  Also somethign elese to consdier, do you have it plugged in directly to a wall outlet or using an extension cord.  It is best to plug it in directly to an outlet. 

Sgood

Don't have a multimeter, guess being no one else has a better conclusion. I best just order a new element, That is a big dissappointment. 1 element only good for 25 hours of cooking.... >:(

rigstar

yeah i know the feeling when something goes wrong with the smoker,
check with bradley customer service first before ordering  one
on your own. if its still under warranty i am sure they will hook you up.
excellent customer service in the dealing i had with them.
hope things work out for you
either your in, or your in the f***ing way

Keymaster