Author Topic: BDS Temp Gauge issue  (Read 2114 times)

Offline TexasDux

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
BDS Temp Gauge issue
« on: February 26, 2012, 09:04:13 am »
Is there a known problem with the digital temperature gauge?
It currently reads 275* but both of my digital gauges that I have next to the meat read a perfect 225*
I have it turned up to 320*, the max, to get to 225* and has been there for a couple hours now.
Is there something wrong with the built-in temp gauge?

Thank you,

Pat

Offline mikecorn.1

  • Member Extraordinaire
  • ******
  • Posts: 5,659
  • Y'all is a word in Texas
BDS Temp Gauge issue
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2012, 09:35:16 am »
Yes, it's not all that accurate. That's why most here use an independent thermometer along with a PID to keep the temp swings down to 1 or 2 degrees.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Mike

Offline TexasDux

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: BDS Temp Gauge issue
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2012, 09:39:37 am »
Is this what I need to order along with the extra power cord since I have the digital model?

http://www.auberins.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=14&products_id=72
« Last Edit: February 26, 2012, 09:55:01 am by TexasDux »

Offline mikecorn.1

  • Member Extraordinaire
  • ******
  • Posts: 5,659
  • Y'all is a word in Texas
Re: BDS Temp Gauge issue
« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2012, 10:51:58 am »
This is th one most of us have, it will keep track of oven and meat temps. You can go with the single probe also, I like the dual cause I can keep track of another item that is in the smoker along with my maverick.

Auber PID Dual Probe
Mike

Offline drunknimortal

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 92
Re: BDS Temp Gauge issue
« Reply #4 on: February 26, 2012, 02:44:37 pm »
I went with the dual probe and it works great. Still wont get my smoker over 225, but ill add a second element and a fan next.

Keymaster

  • Guest
Re: BDS Temp Gauge issue
« Reply #5 on: February 26, 2012, 03:15:15 pm »
I have the dual probe bradley plug and play auber and it works great.

Offline ghost9mm

  • Member Extraordinaire
  • ******
  • Posts: 3,696
Re: BDS Temp Gauge issue
« Reply #6 on: February 26, 2012, 04:07:35 pm »
I have the dual probe bradley plug and play auber and it works great.

X 2
Digital Bradley Smoker with Dual probe PID
The Big Easy with Srg grill
MAK 2 Star General
Char Broil gas grill

Offline mikecorn.1

  • Member Extraordinaire
  • ******
  • Posts: 5,659
  • Y'all is a word in Texas
BDS Temp Gauge issue
« Reply #7 on: March 12, 2012, 09:02:19 am »
Bradley should supply these PID's if their $400 plus product are unreliable. I wish I would have researched my purchase a little more deeply so that I didn't practically waste over $300 worth of pork bellies, chicken, and beef.

Customer Service Anyone?
You don't need a PID for most most things. It's a nice addition. My coworker has an $800 cookshack and it has temp swings also.  My $900 traeger  has temp swings. Should they also provide a PID. ;) just saying :)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Mike

Offline The542

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 85
Re: BDS Temp Gauge issue
« Reply #8 on: March 16, 2012, 03:19:04 pm »
Bradley should supply these PID's if their $400 plus product are unreliable. I wish I would have researched my purchase a little more deeply so that I didn't practically waste over $300 worth of pork bellies, chicken, and beef.

Customer Service Anyone?
You don't need a PID for most most things. It's a nice addition. My coworker has an $800 cookshack and it has temp swings also.  My $900 traeger  has temp swings. Should they also provide a PID. ;) just saying :)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Ok noticing drastic diffence in temps too in my shiny new digital 4 rack. From everything I'm reading, I could have bought an OBS and added a pid, and it would be waaaaaaay more accurate than the digital version I bought at about the same money. So I payed more for "lowest bidder" controls?
BDS4 w/ cold smoke adapter
Auber dual probe PID
TBE
Weber Genesis E-330

Offline mikecorn.1

  • Member Extraordinaire
  • ******
  • Posts: 5,659
  • Y'all is a word in Texas
BDS Temp Gauge issue
« Reply #9 on: March 16, 2012, 04:40:20 pm »
Bradley should supply these PID's if their $400 plus product are unreliable. I wish I would have researched my purchase a little more deeply so that I didn't practically waste over $300 worth of pork bellies, chicken, and beef.

Customer Service Anyone?
You don't need a PID for most most things. It's a nice addition. My coworker has an $800 cookshack and it has temp swings also.  My $900 traeger  has temp swings. Should they also provide a PID. ;) just saying :)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Ok noticing drastic diffence in temps too in my shiny new digital 4 rack. From everything I'm reading, I could have bought an OBS and added a pid, and it would be waaaaaaay more accurate than the digital version I bought at about the same money. So I payed more for "lowest bidder" controls?
I did too :). Didn't know about this forum before I purchased. Now I have a digital that I don't use the fancy digital controls on ;D I only get to push buttons on the smoke generator side :) :o


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Mike

Offline The542

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 85
Re: BDS Temp Gauge issue
« Reply #10 on: March 16, 2012, 05:07:03 pm »
Ok, without mindless searching, quick link to best remedy? I want this set up right...now...please.

Am tech savvy.
« Last Edit: March 16, 2012, 05:14:38 pm by The542 »
BDS4 w/ cold smoke adapter
Auber dual probe PID
TBE
Weber Genesis E-330

Offline TedEbear

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,820
Re: BDS Temp Gauge issue
« Reply #11 on: March 17, 2012, 05:27:39 am »
Ok, without mindless searching, quick link to best remedy? I want this set up right...now...please.

Am tech savvy.

If you scroll up a few messages someone posted a link to the plug-n-play Auber PID dual probe for $185.  They also make a single probe plug-n-play for around $140.

If you're tech savvy and link to tinker you can get an Auber single probe PID that installs in a project box or elsewhere for around $45.  With all parts it'll end up costing around $70-$80.  The dual probe has more programmable step options but if all you want to do is have very accurate temp control then the project box version will do that for a whole lot less money.

Bradley Smoker Controller, Dual Probes

Bradley Smoker Controller, Single Probe

1/16 DIN PID Temperature Controller (SSR control output)


Offline The542

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 85
Re: BDS Temp Gauge issue
« Reply #12 on: March 17, 2012, 05:59:32 am »
Auger dual probe and Maverick 732 ordered. It's going to be too long of a great summer to be fighting smoker temps!

Thanks for your post TedE!
BDS4 w/ cold smoke adapter
Auber dual probe PID
TBE
Weber Genesis E-330

Offline KyNola

  • Moderation Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 10,198
  • KCBS CBJ
Re: BDS Temp Gauge issue
« Reply #13 on: March 17, 2012, 07:15:18 am »
Hold on a second.  If you aren't smoking something that requires tight temp control such as sausage or some salmon recipes, tight temp controls aren't a necessity.  Certainly, pork bellies, pork butts, beef and chicken aren't adversely effected by the temp swinging up and down.  Also, the temp swings lessen more and more as the load in the tower comes up to temperature.  Take your remote thermometer and check your house oven.  Big temp swings in there too.

I own the Auber dual probe plug and play PID for the BDS.  It's still in the box.  Never been hooked up because I haven't started on sausage making yet.

Let me suggest that all new owners spend more time getting to know their Bradley instead of immediately complaining about it before you really know how to use it. 

Offline NePaSmoKer

  • Member Extraordinaire
  • ******
  • Posts: 15,906
Re: BDS Temp Gauge issue
« Reply #14 on: March 17, 2012, 07:23:41 am »
Ditto with Ky

Most of the time its the user not know the Bradleys workings