Mealy texture on Kielbasa

Started by awysocki, February 29, 2012, 03:00:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

awysocki

I am really new to sausage & smoking, though I have tried about 5 times now and not happy with the end result on texture. Taste is fine.

I'm trying basic Kielbasa, I've tried the premix and grinding my own spices and I either end up with very dry or a mealy texture to the end product.   The recipe I've been using is from Rytek Kutas book "Smoked Polish Sausage (Kielbasa)" or from the premix of SausageMaker Polish Low Salt.  I make 5 pounds at a time so its easy to 1/2 the recipe from either.  I have used Boston Butt pork (Pork Shoulder) as the meat, I add in the spices, the 1 cup of Soy Protein (no packed) and the 1 tsp of Insta Cure #1 along with the ice water. I've tried the freeze for 1 hour before grinding to just keeping it in the fridge at 38degrees between grinding and mixing.

This last time I added in 1/2 pound of pork belly thinking the dry texture was because the pork was too lean so I tried to up the fat content a bit but it came out with a mealy texture.

I'm really at a loss as to what I'm doing wrong.

Thanks in advance for any pointers anybody can give.

Kevin A

too much heat in the sausage-making or cooking process may be the cause. Sausage that gets too warm will "break," meaning the fat and protein will separate from each other when cooked, and you'll get a mealy or crumbly texture to your cooked sausage.

It sound likes you're careful about keeping it chilled before grinding and the whole stuffing process. So I would look at the temps & times you're using to smoke or cook the sausages. Below 170° is ideal for good juicy sausages. "Fatting out" is a terrible thing.... :)

-Kevin

viper125

X2 Ive done it quite a few times. (dumby me) then it's dry and crumbly.
A few pics from smokes....
http://photobucket.com/smokinpics
Inside setup.

awysocki