Fan Mod Help!!

Started by mikecorn.1, March 09, 2012, 07:23:44 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

mikecorn.1

OK so I think I wasted close to $100 dollars in this fan  :'(. It does move air around but not nearly enough to keep the temps even from top to bottom.  I don't even have any racks in the smoker so there is nothing interfering with the air movement or lack there of  ;D. Same results no matter where i put the probes. I checked the probes with boiling water and they are accurate  :). I have a 25 degree difference  :o  >:(. Its in the garage so there is no wind and the temp outside is 71. The dual 500 mod is working fine with the PID. Hovering between 224-226.  Set at 225F. 
For those of you that are having great results, what do you think is going on with those of us who are not having the same luck  ???.  I am even willing to try the dual fan blades inside, back to back to see if it makes a difference. I read a thread on here were it was done. Said it pushes up to 25% more air. JZ is going to try it and hopefully post results.

Gonna post pics with my phone to show how it is pushing air. give me a sec, I'm on the laptop and gonna upload them from my phone. just in case some one reads this while I'm getting the pics.  ;D
Mike

mikecorn.1

Here you can see the fan off and the tissue straight down. The probe is to the left of center and actually hanging between the v tray and where the bottom tray would be. The fan is not blowing straight at it. The top probe is down the vent also and its hanging right about where the first tray would be. (not shown on this pic)

Here the fan is on and the tissue although hard to tell, its actually moving and the bottom edge is right at the edge of the v-tray

So here are the latest temps. I closed  the vents on the v-tray towards the back. All but the one closest to the drain hole. Left the
Ones toward the front of the smoker open. Think read this from viper125 post.