Questions

Started by nilesirish17, June 03, 2004, 04:29:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

nilesirish17

I purchased a Bradley last Saturday from Bubba (actually Bubba's wife as he was at the 500) and have a couple of questions.I did successfully smoke some ribs for Sunday!
1. The temperature control slider doesn't seem to activate the heater tube or light the power on light until it is slid halfway or more to the right, this happens at ambient temperatures of 65-70. Is this normal? It seems to limit the control range to half or less.
2. The maximum temperature I can acheive so far is about 200, this is also at an ambient of about 65-70. Is this normal?

I'm just getting started so any help will be graetly appreciated.

Tim

Bassman

Welcome to the forum Tim, and congratulations on your purchase, you went to the right source. Maybe Kirk can answer your questions better but here is what I have noticed.
When the temperature control slider is all the way to the left the light will be off,the further right you move it the brighter it should get. You might want to put your hand over top of the light to block out any other light and move the slider a little ways just to make sure.

About the max temp, was it windy? was the smoker full? Did it climb quickly to 200F and stop there? If none of these apply both problems could be related and it could be a faulty temp control.In which case you would need to call Bradley customer service and they will send you a new one in a matter of days. Mine got moisture in it and they replaced it no questions asked.

Hope this helps[:)]

<i><font color="blue"><b>Jack</i></font id="blue"></b>
Jack

Chez Bubba

Tim,

First thing I want to know is how can you have "0 posts" when I'm answering your post?[:D]