Author Topic: No power out of smoke generator  (Read 5813 times)

Offline Beechnut

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
No power out of smoke generator
« on: April 29, 2012, 06:14:23 am »
So, hooked everything up for first smoke this morning, couldn't get over 137 degrees. So, from looking around, people suggested that's about as hot as the burner plate can get the cabinet by itself (without the cabinet heating element going)

Sure, enough plugged smooker directly into the wall and it's heating element started to glow and everything started heating up.

Used a multimeter to test power out of the smoke generator to the cabinet and no juice.

So, if I plug it directly into the wall, it'll just go full blast with no temp control. Don't have a PID.

Any ideas? (other than wait for a new smoke generator from Bradley)


Offline Beechnut

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: No power out of smoke generator
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2012, 06:53:51 am »
Well, took the housing off, checked the fuse...good. 1 exasperating last chance... It's up and running. Here's to happy smoking. Attempting pulled pork today for the first run.

Keymaster

  • Guest
Re: No power out of smoke generator
« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2012, 07:07:35 am »
So was it a loose wire inside the smoke generator?

Offline mikecorn.1

  • Member Extraordinaire
  • ******
  • Posts: 5,659
  • Y'all is a word in Texas
No power out of smoke generator
« Reply #3 on: April 29, 2012, 07:09:10 am »
Ditto.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Mike

Offline TedEbear

  • Member Extraordinaire
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,544
Re: No power out of smoke generator
« Reply #4 on: April 29, 2012, 09:03:53 am »
Well, took the housing off, checked the fuse...good. 1 exasperating last chance... It's up and running. Here's to happy smoking. Attempting pulled pork today for the first run.

Sometimes the plug that goes between the SG and the tower isn't plugged in all the way and that leads to the problem you described.  It is a tight fit, especially on a new unit, and plugging/unplugging it a few times while troubleshooting can fix it.

Glad everything is back up and running.  Don't forget to post pics of your first attempt pulled pork later.   ;)

Offline muebe

  • Member Extraordinaire
  • ******
  • Posts: 3,327
  • Love the smell of smoke!
Re: No power out of smoke generator
« Reply #5 on: April 29, 2012, 09:48:20 am »
Hopefully it was just a loose plug. A loose electrical wire in the SG would not be good eats ;)
Natural Gas 4 burner stainless RED with auto-clean
2 TBEs(1 natural gas & 1 LP gas)
OBS(Auberins dual probe PID, 900w finned element & convection fan mods)
2011 Memphis Select Pellet Smoker
BBQ Grillware vertical smoker(oven thermostat installed & converted to natural gas)

Offline Beechnut

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: No power out of smoke generator
« Reply #6 on: April 29, 2012, 09:49:29 am »
Totally forgot the before pics but I'll get after pics.

As to loose wire, must have been. Of note, when I was trying to bring the temp up, I didnt have any pucks in the smoker, but the light wasn't indicating "off" for smoke. Once I put everything back together, I did get the light without the wood in the smoker, like it should be. And the cabinet heating element started doing its thing.

Offline Toker

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,144
Re: No power out of smoke generator
« Reply #7 on: April 29, 2012, 09:59:27 am »
Me, when i received mine in January, the pucks were thrown 2 at the time. So a loose connection inside the smoke generator but that is an other problem.

Offline Beechnut

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: No power out of smoke generator
« Reply #8 on: April 29, 2012, 06:33:06 pm »
Here are the promised pics.

1st IT Temp of 189. Almost there!


2nd & 3rd Pics: All done ready for eating. Shoulder bone is seperating from the meat.


Offline Beechnut

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: No power out of smoke generator
« Reply #9 on: April 29, 2012, 06:37:42 pm »
So, some things I learned:

The STALL!!!! OMG didn't know about it until we hit it. started at 153 and took forever from there.

Shoulder was almost 4lbs and it too 9hrs 15min to hit IT of 190. Have patience. It's worth the wait.

Don't worry about the temp fluctuating with pork shoulder. It can take it. Set in a 225 and there were spikes to 241. Don't change that dial unless you hit above 250.

This was our first attempt so if you have tips and tricks to add, I'd love to hear them.

Whole family enjoyed it!

Offline Habanero Smoker

  • Member Extraordinaire
  • ******
  • Posts: 14,495
  • KCBS - Master Certified Barbecue Judge
Re: No power out of smoke generator
« Reply #10 on: April 30, 2012, 02:00:24 am »
Glad you were successful.

You may want to position the Maverick further away from the vent. The heat, hot moisture and smoke residue can take its toll on electronics.


     I
         don't
                   inhale.
  ::)

Offline mikecorn.1

  • Member Extraordinaire
  • ******
  • Posts: 5,659
  • Y'all is a word in Texas
No power out of smoke generator
« Reply #11 on: April 30, 2012, 05:07:25 am »
That looks fantastic!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Mike

Offline Smoker John

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,067
Re: No power out of smoke generator
« Reply #12 on: April 30, 2012, 11:42:08 am »
Shoulder looks great, glad you got your problems resolved.
Bradley Digital 4 Rack
Bradley BS712