new to this

Started by rayw, June 06, 2012, 08:36:36 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

rayw

hi everyone im totally new to smoking if im smoking just for taste for instance pidgeon or trout do i have to brine first cold smoking that is any tips will be great

Kahunas

Welcome to the world of smoking.
I can honestly say I have never brined a pidgeon. It is all up to what you want for taste. Brining changes the flavor, moisture content, and texture of the food. So, no you don't have to brine. If you are cold smoking just give it the smoke level you like and go with it. Some people like to smoke things for 4 hours plus, others just an hour is enough. It all depends on YOUR taste.
Never try to teach a pig to sing; it wastes your time and annoys the pig.

mikecorn.1

Welcome aboard.
You don't have to brine. You can just use a rub that you like.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Mike

Ka Honu

Pigeon?  I'm not a pigeon hunter or raiser but it seems that it would be poultry-like but maybe skinnier.  If so, it seems it would be a perfect candidate for brining and smoking (cold-smoked immediately before grilling or rubbed, wrapped in bacon and hot smoked, ).  If not, forget I said anything.

rayw

thanks think ill skip the brine and dive in and smoke them

devo

Hmmm Cold smoking you say? What would the temp be for cold smoking? Just remember the "Danger Zone" is universally accepted as 40°F. to 140°F. That is why we use brine. Many don't, I never did till I read more and read more and read more. Not safe not to use brine. Here is all good info, use it if you wish. I know I didn't believe this stuff till I read a few good books. Big eye opener.