Some Q's on hot smoking salmon using Kummok's recipe

Started by crowdcor225, September 11, 2012, 11:29:07 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

crowdcor225

So it's my first attempt at smoking salmon and I've chosen to use Kummok's recipe. I brined my salmon pieces for 12 hours, but when I was letting them sit to form the pellicle, they smelled very strongly of the brine, and I am wondering if that will end up giving them a stronger flavor in the end product? My next question is about avoiding the boogers that come from the temp rising too quickly. I pre-heated the smoker to 120 degrees F before putting in the salmon and am wondering if I should have put them in before starting up the smoker? Anyways, hopefully my salmon will turn out okay. It's a learning process to be sure, but I don't want to waste the wild sockeye salmon that I am smoking.

pmmpete

Kummok's brine recipe has a moderate aroma because it includes soy or teriyaki sauce.  If you like the flavor of the fish after it has been smoked, next time you make smoked fish you could try basting the fish with some additional brine before forming a pellicle, to increase the flavor from the brine.  If you find the flavor from the brine is stronger than you like, try a different brine recipe, or try rinsing or wiping the brine off the outside of the fish before you form a pellicle.

Boogers on smoked fish are an aesthetic issue, not a taste issue.  If they appear, wipe them off and keep smoking.  Whether you get boogers depends partly on how oily or fatty the fish is, and partly on how hot you get the fish in the first hour or so you smoke it.  If you get boogers on your current batch of smoked salmon, next time try putting the fish in the smoker before you turn on the heat, or preheat the smoker to a lower temperature, or increase the temperature more slowly.