int temp& cabinet temp confusion

Started by sprightlyone, October 21, 2012, 12:43:49 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

sprightlyone

hi
i have a masterbuilt smoker but i guess the operation is somewhat similar
i have smoked a few different cuts of meat & poultry as well as fish .  i notice that to raise the internal temp i have had to raise the cabinet temp is this correct ??
or do i set the cabinet to my finish temp & let the timer take care of raising the int temp??
as i get hotter my product seems to look more cooked as well as smoked
i also seem to have lengthy smoke periods to get that rich colour . ie my ham seemed to look more like a roast (1st attempt)
confused what am i doing wrong ?
lyl e

pensrock

The cab temp will need to be a little higher than the int temp desired. The higher it is the shorter the cook time. But you want low-n-slow for good BBQ. For example I normally set the cab to 225 for pulled pork but the int temp I want is 185-190. You need to probe the meat to find the correct int temp. That will tell you when its done. If the cab temp equals the desired int temp than it will take forever. You need to go slow enough to allow the magic to happen and allow the meat to get tender, any slower is wasted time. IMHO
   I'm sure there will be others chime in soon enough. One of them may be better at explaining things than I am.

tskeeter