Just Getting Started

Started by Mbramhall, January 05, 2013, 09:22:39 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mbramhall

I'm new to Bradley Smokers Christmas gift from the greatest Wife and 3 daughters.

To date I have successfully cold smoked 3 blocks of sharp cheddar cheese, and last night I did the Atomic Buffalo Treat (jalapeño poppers) which turned out great.

Now I want to try a beef tenderloin (3lbs tenderloin roast).

I'm in Nebraska (smoker outside (shielded from the wind)) the average daytime temp is 28-32 degrees

Looking for advice.

PS: I don't have an indoor enclosure/structure to put the smoker in, so it's stuck outside in the cold.

drano

Congrats on the Bradley, and welcome.  You'll get lots of help here.
I bought my OBS years ago in Nebraska City when I lived south of Omaha.
Glad to see you're working your way up for experience.
A tenderloin may be a little more difficult since it doesn't have a lot of fat in it.  I've never done one, or pork loin, so the only advise I'll give is wrap it in bacon to give it some fat.  Hopefully others will be here soon for more advise. 
Other easy meats--whole chicken, and pork butt. 
Then move into ribs and brisket, and you'll be an expert in no time. 
Post pics of your smokes so we can drool over your accomplishments.
good smokin

beefmann

Alanfromwis

Just a note on the 900 watt element, the newer style has 1 wire connection on each end, instead of both on 1 end.
Retirement means every day is Saturday except Sunday

Mbramhall

Wow thanks for the advice, but I really don't feel confident about having to modify a smoker I just bought.

The shelter does look convenient

Habanero Smoker

Hi Mbramhall;

Welcome to the forum.

I have never smoked/cook a tenderloin in the Bradley, but have cooked plenty of Top Loins. Top Loins have a little more marbling the Tenderloins, but the technique should still work. Here is a link to how I smoke/cook them:
Smoke Top Loin