Thermometer/Hygrometer for cold smoking

Started by phitt, April 08, 2013, 06:32:34 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

phitt

Ok folks, I'm very new to this game and just picked up my OBS yesterday and have a question for you all.
I was reading about thermometers etc and how the OBS thermometer is not that accurate and was wondering how to best control my temps for cold smoking my first cheese when I stumbled across my Oregon Scientific weather station in a box in the garage. Now I've had a think about this and can't see any reason why this thermo/hygro would not work for cold smoking temps.
I'm going to aim for 75-85F to start with and rather than guessing I thought this would give a better indication. Is there a prime relative humidity to aim for in the tower also or is it a measurement that can be ignored and just smoke with the vent fully open?
Can anyone foresee any problems using this bit of kit for my cold smoking?
Many thanks
Phitt
Unmodded OBS

Shoot them in the head and the rest of them dies!

GusRobin

Unless you are fermenting sausage or something, cold smoking doesn't need to have controlled humidity. It actually doesn't need anything at all except a decent thermometer and a method to keep the temp low.
You would only use the SG and the cabinet element would be turned off. The trick is to keep the temp around 85* - 95* (my opinion, others may vary). You can do this by not turning on the cabinet element and  (1) rely on the fact the the outside temp is cold enough or (2) crack the door open or (3)put a pan of ice on the bottom rack. Or a combination of all 3. As far as the vent position, mine is always wide open no matter what I cook.
"It ain't worth missing someone from your past- there is a reason they didn't make it to your future."

"Life is tough, it is even tougher when you are stupid"

Don't curse the storm, learn to dance in the rain.

Habanero Smoker