I need your advice.

Started by Copper Creek, July 01, 2004, 05:00:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Copper Creek

I need your advice on my weekend project.  I intend to smoke two six pound brisketts and two racks of baby backs at the same time.  I'm still a newbie with the Bradley.  How do you suggest that I smoke these since I'm wanting to cook them all at the same time[?][?][?]

Thanks,
Steve

BigSmoker

Steve,  
The secret to brisket is low and slow.  I would think a 6lb brisket cooked at 190-200 F could take 12-15 hrs.  I cook mine to 185 f then wrap in foil and let rest in cold oven for 1-1 1/2 hrs.  IMHO, I would make sure the briskets are done early because after wraping in foil you can wrap a couple of towels around each and they will stay hot for 5-6 hrs.  I am not a rib guru on the BS but I'll do a little research and get back with another post.  Do you know what time zone this forum is in?

P.S.  I would use an electronic polder for the brisket.  OPening the door on the Bradley can increase cooking time significantly.

Jeff

Some say BBQ is in your blood, if thats true my blood must be BBQ sauce.
Some people say BBQ is in the blood, if thats true my blood must be BBQ sauce.

PAsmoker

I agree on the brisket.  Ribs will take about 4 hours or so.  Start the brisket 1st and add the ribs later.  make sure to put the raw ribs below the cooking brisket so you do not get rib blood/juice on the brisket.  Take your time, relax & have a homebrew.  Don't be in a hurry.
The Original PAsmoker

BigSmoker

Steve,