NO HEAT WHY!!!!! GETTING ANGRY

Started by chefbrady12, April 28, 2013, 08:12:39 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

chefbrady12

just got this thing yesteerday I am an executive chef of a fine dining restaurant, 4 years of culinary school, I know how to cook. This piece of sh@t will not heat up.  Been preheating this piece for over 3 hours now.  I have tons of food to cook, this sh!tbox will not go over 130 degrees WHY???????

chefbrady12

So was getting very angry have all this food hanging around waiting to go in.  2 whole chicken I boned out from the back keeping the skin in tact, ground some veal, and pork made a nice mousse/forcemeat out of it, stuffed my chickens, injected them, seasoned them, wrapped them in caul fat, and they have been patiently waiting to go in the smoker.  @ other chickens I brined, took out the back bone, let them dry overnight, just seasoned them very generously with a great rub I made.  Also got a few racks of ribs, made a great rub the KC rub from modernist cuisine, let them be in the fridge overnight 12 hours later, want to smoke them.  So I unplug everything, plug it back in, go take a shower, and now my smoker is at 250, JUST LIKE THAT.  Thank God I was getting pissed.  So now ribs are going in, then the stuffed chicken, and later my other brined chickens, with the backbone removed.  We will see now I am starting to love this smoker

RedJada

Welcome chefbrady12, looks like you answered your own question. Make sure everything is plugged in tightly. Looks like you have a lot on your plate to cook. You being a chief I'm sure realize that smoking food takes 4-5 times longer than just cooking. Glad you got everything going. Great place here and a lot of help if you need it. Just ask. That food you are doing sounds awesome. Please post photos....

Tenpoint5

Make sure you keep the vent wide open when doing poultry. The skin on poultry will be rubbery coming out of the smoker. You may want to crisp it up on a grill or oven