Too much Smoke??

Started by Roops, May 22, 2013, 09:17:17 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Roops

Hey all.  Im pretty new to Bradley Smokers.  I have probably done 4 smokes since getting my 1st in March.  I have noticed on everything that i pump out I get an overpowering smoke flavor, almost unnatural.  Ive stuck to the give it smoke for 50% of the time it is in the smoker rule and the only piece of meat it seams to have worked flawlessly on is a 6lb boston butt.  I thought it was because of using Mesquitte at first but since I have gotten Apple and it still can over power.  Any suggestions?  This weekend i want to do smoked turkey legs (like Disney World)  and want to get it perfect.  Also I saw a picture of Vipers results doing the turkey legs @ http://forum.bradleysmoker.com/index.php?topic=28137.0  and saw the pink meat,  i havent been able to achieve this yet on a whole chicken or chicken wings.  Please any help would be greatly appreciated, I love the idea of this smoker and have really put in some good money and time and want to get better

Thanks

Roops

GusRobin

on briskets and butts, most folks smoke for 3-4 hours give or take. But it is a matter of personal preference. I would keep track of my smokes and adjust the amount of smoke for the next one based upon what the results are.
Poultry I usually give an hour to 1 1/2 hrs of smoke because for me it seems to absorb it more. But again it is a matter of personal taste.
"It ain't worth missing someone from your past- there is a reason they didn't make it to your future."

"Life is tough, it is even tougher when you are stupid"

Don't curse the storm, learn to dance in the rain.

standles

What Gus said  ;D

I generally never go over 3-4 hours smoke.   When I am smoking stuff for my Mom (she likes very little smoke) I adjust lower.  If it is just me I go o nthe longer end.

It is a preference thing and something you figureout as you go.

Steven

Habanero Smoker

Hi Roops;

Welcome to the forum.