2nd try at Reuben sausage

Started by ragweed, August 07, 2013, 06:17:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ragweed

Some of you may remember I made a batch of Reuben sausage last Spring.  They ate real good but were real wet and hard to stuff.  Thought I'd try again and take to Iowa this weekend for evaluation.  Used corned beef brisket, shredded swiss and kraut again.  This time at OU812's suggestion I added four slices of dark rye bread to try and sop up some of the moisture.  Beef ground coarse and the ingredients mixed in, ready to stuff into hog casings.

Still seemed a little wet so I added 6 TBS NFDM, mixed again and let it all sit in the frig for a while.  The stuffing went much better this time, but still a little wet.  I thought the fried up leftover tasted pretty good.  Looking forward to the experts' opinions this weekend.

lilharv

I'm watching this ragweed, my mouths been watering since your first post.

goodluck this wkend

Saber 4

I'm no expert, haven't even gotten past fresh breakfast sausage yet, but I can't wait to try it. :)

rveal23

I sure am going to miss a lot of great treats!
* DBS w/ 900watt Mod
* Webber Kettle Grill
* Hybrid Grill

cobra6223

well hide one till I get there, can't to try them !!! look real good.

Tenpoint5

Quote from: lilharv on August 07, 2013, 09:48:17 PM
I'm watching this ragweed, my mouths been watering since your first post.

goodluck this wkend

Not too late to drive down and join us!
Bacon is the Crack Cocaine of the Food World.

Be careful about calling yourself and EXPERT! An ex is a has-been, and a spurt is a drip under pressure!

pikeman_95

Would you do us a favor. Have your camera handy when you grill these up and give us a cut shot after they are grilled. I would like to see the texture of the finished product. I love Reuben  sandwiches and this sure sounds good.
KC

Tenpoint5

Kirby if we dont get a picture here look in the MWSO thread. I have a experimental sausage to try this weekend as well