Buckboard bacon

Started by Bagman, October 02, 2013, 11:30:07 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bagman

Well this is my first attempt at BBB and my first attempt at inserting pictures. So far the BBB seems much easier! Am using Hi mountain seasoning on a 7.5 lb butt after boning . Will follow instructions to the letter and hope for the best.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - now Free
If women can't find you handsome they should at least find you handy!  Red Green

ragweed

Good luck.  You'll do fine.  I have to comment, though.  $0.87/lb!!!!!!  Here in NE that's an unheard of price.  They just went on "super sale" for $1.57/lb.  I'm jealous.

Bagman

Thought that would get some attention. It is from a sale back in May, my two sausage making buddy's and I bought 27 of them.  Same store has them for $1.29 lb this week, will get some more!
If women can't find you handsome they should at least find you handy!  Red Green

ragweed

Quote from: Bagman on October 02, 2013, 12:06:16 PM
Thought that would get some attention. It is from a sale back in May, my two sausage making buddy's and I bought 27 of them.  Same store has them for $1.29 lb this week, will get some more!

I hit a similar deal last Spring too.  But I paid about $1.25/lb.  I bought 12 of them, boned and cubed them, then vac sealed in 5lb packages all ready for sausage making.  Still have some left so I must not be making enough sausage!!

Bagman

Not enough sausage indeed!  These are packaged by Hormel and already vac sealed so we freeze them whole and make 25lb batches, works out close enough.

Saber 4

I love the price, I have used the HI Mtn BBB kit to do belly bacon and Canadian bacon and I don't think you'll have any issues and I'd bet you'll love the flavor also.

Bagman

My only real concern is that I've read about a to cold of a temperature in my fridge stopping the curing process. What temperature are others curing at and has anyone ever had the process stop on them?

Saber 4