Noobie here undecided

Started by al_sfbay, October 14, 2013, 08:01:49 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

al_sfbay

Hi All,
I am a rank amateur in the smoking world, although pretty comfortable in the grilling world.  I have been looking at Bradleys, the  BTDS76JB and the  BTDS76S.  Can someone please tell me the difference?  Also being the noobie that I am, what is a PID?  Sorry for being so uninformed.

3rensho

Hello and welcome.  What part of SF Bay area are you in.  My old stompin' grounds.  Regarding the smokers I'd say the B is black finished and the S is shiny stainless steel.  A PID (Proportional Integrating Differentiating) is a fancy temperature controller.  Look at the WIki entry for details of the algorithm.  Well worth having in my book.
Somedays you're the pigeon, Somedays you're the statue.

Grouperman941

Quote from: 3rensho on October 14, 2013, 08:43:31 AM
Hello and welcome.  What part of SF Bay area are you in.  My old stompin' grounds.  Regarding the smokers I'd say the B is black finished and the S is shiny stainless steel.  A PID (Proportional Integrating Differentiating) is a fancy temperature controller.  Look at the WIki entry for details of the algorithm.  Well worth having in my book.

I think JB is Jim Beam.
I just spent $12 K on this Honda Accord! Why can't it tow my boat?!?

tskeeter

Al, a PID is a  Proportional Integral Derivative controller. It's a device that many forum members use for a couple of reasons.  One is to reduce the range of the temperature swings that are normal for a Bradley (set point +/- 20F or so).  The other is to provide a controller that can handle nonstandard heating element configurations that draw more power than the Bradley was designed for.