Turkey is in the brine!

Started by 4given, December 10, 2013, 08:39:36 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

4given

OK after a lot of research and great advice from this forum I got my turkey in the brine last light. This will be my first attempt at curing and smoking a turkey.

Using a 5 gallon white food grade bucket I submerged an 18 pound turkey in 2 gallons of brine containing:

4 oz Cure #1
1 cup Canning salt
1.5 cups sugar

Decided to do just a simple brine with no extra flavorings as a kind of benchmark in flavor since this is my first cured smoked turkey.

I plan on leaving it in the brine until Saturday morning. I will then soak it in clean water for an hour or so then fire up the smoker!

Any comments or further advice is welcome!
Not Perfect but Forgiven
Bradley BTIS1
Green Mountain Grill "Daniel Boone" Pellet Grill
Webber "Q" 100

Saber 4

I'm no expert on brining, however based on the advice given to me after an overly salty chicken experiment on the way to my first brined turkey I would say you may be over brining, I was advised 1 hour per pound for turkey brining as well as 3oz cure #1 per gallon of brine. I will defer to the experts who should be along shortly and I would recommend that you follow their advice over mine if different. :)

KyNola

I gots to agree with my friend Robert.  4 Days in a brine for a turkey seems excessive but then again, what do I know?

Habanero Smoker

If you are looking for cure like flavor, 4 ounces of Cure #1 in two gallons of liquid may not provide much, though it will provide enough sodium nitrite ppm at a safe level of cooking if you decide to cook in the hot smoke range (100 - 180°F). I believe your brine times are a little higher then Marianski uses. Marianski brine times make my turkeys too salty. For brines I use for flavoring, I go with the 1 hour per pound, and generally no longer then 24 hours for an 18lb. turkey, but I only brine poultry that is either organic, or minimally processed.