new to smoking

Started by allmann, December 13, 2013, 11:50:36 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

allmann

I am kind of new to smoking but love eating it. I am a big hunter and eat lots of jerky. I want to get in to it without breaking the bank. I have smoked turkey breasts and pork shoulders before in a grill smoker. My question is what model do you suggest for a new-be that will be using it moderately. Im from jersey also, Thank you in advance for your help

tskeeter

Hi, Allmann.  Welcome from the Sierra's.

This forum has quite a few folks who have a lot of experience with jerky in a Bradley.  I expect one of them will be along shortly and give you some great advice.

Wildcat

I would recommend the Original version. Works just fine out of the box and can be modified easily if you are of a mind to do so. Generally lower cost and IMHO less trouble than the digital. The fancier something gets, the more that can go wrong with it. Just my 2 cents.
Life is short. Smile while you still have teeth.

CLICK HERE for Recipe Site:  http://www.susanminor.org/

ragweed

Welcome to the forum from Nebraska and X2 on what Wildcat says.  I smoke for 2 hrs @ 150* F in my OBS then finish in dehydrators so I'm not much help.  The true Bradley jerky makers will be along shortly, I'm sure.

NorthShoreMN

Bradley 6 digital, Bradley BCS, TSM 20 stainless, Masterbuilt 30 with cold smoke attachment, BGE, Weber Kettle, Weber Q2200,Homemade grill on trailer

"Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live
forever." Mahatma Gandhi

Saber 4

UncleAl

Welcome from Michigan I have the OBS am pretty new to smoking myself this unit is really easy to use.

beefmann

welcome aboard and i would go with a  original  4 rack

tailfeathers

I got a 6 rack digital this past summer  and just today modified it with a 900 watt element controlled by a single probe auber pid. If I had known then what I know now I would have gone with a 4 rack original and made the same two modifications.