Smoking clams

Started by Enticer11, December 15, 2013, 02:08:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Enticer11

Hello everyone,
I have a box of clam mantle that a friend gave me. It came off a factory freezer trawler so it is al package and pre cooked.
I am fairly new at smoking however I love anything smoked!
My question is; what's the best approach? I was going to smoke them for a few hours on low heat and maybe in a bath of olive oil. I also want to bottle the clams afterwards. Is it safe to put them in bottles of olive oil and boil them to seal the Madison jars? Please help. Thank you.
Robert

devo

This is right off the bradley site  :o :o :o wow I am surprised I found a recipe there for smoked clams  ;D ;D   Can't help you out on the jarring of them after.
http://www.north-america.bradleysmoker.com/recipe/smoked-clams/

Salmonsmoker

Quote from: Enticer11 on December 15, 2013, 02:08:50 PM
Hello everyone,
I have a box of clam mantle that a friend gave me. It came off a factory freezer trawler so it is al package and pre cooked.
I am fairly new at smoking however I love anything smoked!
My question is; what's the best approach? I was going to smoke them for a few hours on low heat and maybe in a bath of olive oil. I also want to bottle the clams afterwards. Is it safe to put them in bottles of olive oil and boil them to seal the Madison jars? Please help. Thank you.
Robert

Enticer,
You can't preserve clams by using the hot water bath method. The temperature isn't high enough to kill food borne toxins. They have to be canned in a pressure cooker for a specified time and pressure.
Give a man a beer and he'll waste a day.
Teach him how to brew and he'll waste a lifetime.

Habanero Smoker

Since they are already cooked, I would be careful not to cook them any further, or the texture will be quite rubbery. I would follow the reheating instructions and see if you can modify those instructions for use in the Bradley.