Smoker seems to take forever to hit oven temp - is that normal?

Started by DQuade, December 28, 2013, 01:45:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

DQuade

I am new to smoking.  Trying out my smoker for the second time.  First time was an utter failure.  I have a BTDS76P unit.  Just trying to smoke some simple chicken and need the oven temp to warm up to 250.  After running for 2 hours, it was only at 54.  (outside temperature is 60 today).  I have the smoker in the garage so it is totally out of the wind.  After 2 hours, I decided to turn on the heating element to help add some heat to the unit.  After about 30 minutes with the heating element running, it is now at 70 degrees.  Is this normal to take so long to warm it to the correct oven temperature?

Would be good if instruction manuals would at least give you a guide as to how long you should expect the smoker to "warm up" before you even start your meat.  So far I'm a bit frustrated with the entire thing and wondering if I shouldn't have just gone with propane instead of electric.  Really didn't expect i would spend so much time just waiting for the oven to get to a point where I could add the meat. 

Any suggestions?  I attributed my first failure to the fact that I was using it with outdoor temps around 30.  Figured with a nice 60 degree day, I should be able to smoke some meat.  In my first attempt, after about 10 hours, I gave up when the temp of the meat never got above 95.  Ended up finishing the chicken in the oven.  Still tasted nice and smoky but would like to actually do it all in the smoker and would assume I shouldn't need 10 hours to smoke 8 chicken breasts!

Saber 4

Check all your connections and make sure they are fully seated, then look at your element and see if it is glowing red after pushing in all the connections. If that doesn't help there are instructions in several posts on how to check for a bad element and other possible problems.

RedJada