lower than normal

Started by anthony, January 13, 2014, 07:56:46 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

anthony

I have been using my smoker for a few years and now I am having a problem.  On my last 2 smokes I can't get the cabinet temp up above 175.  I was making pulled pork and after 18 hours I only see 175, I have moved the food to the oven to finish. 

I am using the same short extension cord that I always use.
I unplugged all the cords and put them back in.
I have the smoker in a small shed so everything is the same from smoke to smoke. 
After 3 hours running empty the box is at 225. 

Can the element go partly bad?  It looks to be glowing red, more of the right than the left, but I used to be able to get to 260 or so without a problem. 

I am at a loss as to what to try next. 

GusRobin

Have you added more appliances, lights or other stuff to the circuit that the Bradley is plugged into? Not talking the extension cord, but the circuit itself. The Bradley does not play well with others on its circuit.
"It ain't worth missing someone from your past- there is a reason they didn't make it to your future."

"Life is tough, it is even tougher when you are stupid"

Don't curse the storm, learn to dance in the rain.

anthony

I do not think so, this is plugged into the garage outlets and nothing else is going on out there. 
I can try to move the smoker closer to the house and try using a circuit there. 

Thanks for the suggestion

Saber 4

If your element is only glowing red to one side I would think it has gotten weak or is soon to go out, if it were mine I would probably replace it. I know there are some instructions on here for testing the element but I haven't paid a lot of attention to what the number is supposed to be since I don't have a tester.

Wildcat

Quote from: Saber 4 on January 13, 2014, 11:22:10 AM