Made a BUNCH of bacon.....

Started by stuper01, March 29, 2014, 09:43:32 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

stuper01

Good day everyone!!!!!!

I filled my Bradley last night with a few bellies.... And hit it with 2 hours of smoke, and then to a internal temp of 140.

The thing is, I have never done this much before, and it didn't seem to take the smoke as well as before....

The meat seemed to stay to wet I think....  Even with the top vent wide open.

It never got the golden "bark" that I am used to seeing...

Too much at once???

Saber 4

That's hard to answer with out a few more details such as how many pounds of belly, what temp did you have the cabinet at, was your vent open all the way to let the moisture out? Also did you air dry in the fridge to let the pellicle form before you started smoking? I'm sure our bacon experts will be along shortly to give you all the answers you need.

RedJada

x2 on what saber said? Need more info on your process... Cure?, how long, dry before smoke, smoker temp, vent status, Temp, etc...

Habanero Smoker

When you say it didn't take on smoke, are you referring to the taste or color?

When the outside of the meat is very moist, it should take on smoke flavor better, but the bacon will be lacking in color.

When you answer the questions asked, members will be able to help you avoid this problem in the future?

One other question. Are you using a large pan to replace the water bowl? If so, that will add a good deal of extra moisture in the cabinet.

I
         don't
                   inhale.
  ::)

stuper01

Quote from: Saber 4 on March 29, 2014, 11:23:30 AM
That's hard to answer with out a few more details such as how many pounds of belly, what temp did you have the cabinet at, was your vent open all the way to let the moisture out? Also did you air dry in the fridge to let the pellicle form before you started smoking? I'm sure our bacon experts will be along shortly to give you all the answers you need.