newbie starting this weekend, looking for advice

Started by smokemandan, March 20, 2014, 12:18:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

smokemandan

hi all,
i am brand new to this. just picked up my DBS 4 rack this week. can't wait to fire it up this weekend.
looking for advice on 1st smoke - what is an easy, no-brainer type of meat/cut for a newbie?
I don't want to take on something too finicky or easy to screw up...maybe a pork loin? or ribs? chicken? just not sure...
I know there is something about seasoning the smoker first - any advice?
(I havent even unboxed it yet, so forgive me if the manual is clear about how to season it, just havent seen it yet)
hoping i don't run into any of the issues i've read about on the forums...had a hard time deciding between OBS and DBS, finally went with DBS when it went on sale...
BTW i am up here in Canada, so outside temps are still below freezing
glad for any comments
cheers
smokemandan

manfromplaid

instructions for seasoning are in the box. make sure all the plugs are in tight, once you have it fired up and seasoned turn up the heat and check that it will make 225. keep the vent open  shelter as much as possable from the wind. pick your meat  and ask for help. its a new way of enjoying food   just give yourself extra time to get it done. welcome to the forum from alberta.

RedJada

Seasoning is a must do and its easy so make sure you do that. My first smoke were baby back ribs.

http://forum.bradleysmoker.com/index.php?topic=10182.0. Pretty much fool proof. Also, lots more smoking/cooking ideas here.

http://www.susanminor.org/forums/forumdisplay.php?180-Our-Time-Tested-and-Proven-Recipes

Just so you know, there is no cure for your new addiction. If you run into problems or have questions just ask. Tons of great people that will help out. And post photos, we all like photos.

Oh, and welcome from NE Ohio.

NorthShoreMN