First time for Lake Trout

Started by curtis.venne, June 05, 2014, 08:03:28 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

curtis.venne

I am extremely new to this. I have a small 2 lb laker that i would like to try in my smoker. Wondering if anyone has a tried and true brine recipe as well as total time in the smoker? I have Hickory/Apple and Mesquite pucks. Assume Apple would be the best here.. Also, must you filet the fish to smoke it? Right now i cut out the belly and removed the head. Can it be done like that?

Thx

tailfeathers

Curtis-First let me say hi and welcome, you've come to the right place to ask questions. Lots of friendly people more than happy to try and help in any way they can. (We like pictures by the way). I have never smoked a laker or a whole fish, but have done salmon, rainbow trout and paddlefish all using the brine recipe by Kummock and it turns out beautifully. His recipe can be found in the "sticky" post at the top of the fish section of the forums, it is right above your post. I would use his brine recipe and smoke technique as a good starting point. I personally like to smoke skinless filets because I think they pick up more of the brine flavor when it doesn't have to penetrate the skin. And yes, apple would probably be peferable to either hickory or mesquite for fish. Alder is good as well.
Where there's smoke, there's HAPPINESS!!!

pmmpete