Reusing brine for double batch of salmon?

Started by LeBoism1, May 23, 2010, 12:02:10 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

LeBoism1

Just wondering if it's safe to reuse my salmon brine for a next day second batch of salmon? In other words, can I brine, then smoke my fully loaded OBS... then do the whole process over again immediately using the same brine? If this is safe, how many days would you go before it's unsafe to do a second batch with same brine?

I've been using Kummok's recipe(thanks Kummok) for a couple years now and love it. But, the chinook are running in Idaho now and we're getting a lot of fish. Time for some serious smoking. Thanks for any/all opinions!! :)

Randy

Habanero Smoker

It is not safe to reuse the brine, it should be dump down the drain after it's first use. Beside being unsafe, the salinity (concentration of salt) of the brine has been lowered, and other flavoring have weaken. To make it short and simple, due to the  action of osmosis - the movement of water with a high concentration of salt (brine) to where the salt concentration is lower (meat cells). Depending on how long you brine this process will continue until the concentration of salt is equal in both the brine and the cells. Lowering the salinity also can encourages bacterial growth.

Here is a good site that explains brining.
All About Brining