First time smoking pork....Trouble...and trying to fix my mistakes...

Started by Rooftop777, July 10, 2014, 04:01:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Rooftop777

Hi all, I smoked a pork butt yesterday but had a bunch of trouble so ended up putting it in oven at 350 until internal temp got to 200f. \put it to cool and was in fridge to cool. Today, I put it back in oven at 350 since could not do pulled pork since it was cold and tough to do.
I put pork in a glass dish and triple wrapped it and put apple juice with it, gonna wait until internal of 200 to pull with fork then put in vacuum pack for later.

This is my first time doing this, is this going to work or am I just going to end up with tough meat and a flop ????
please advise on suggestions, it's in the oven right now.......
thanks

Rooftop777

In oven with apple juice wrapped in foil on a glass cake pan, just checked internal temp and 123F, gonna keep cooking  it until gets to 205 to see if it will loosen stuff up so easier to pull, seems still a bit tough...but 1 piece I just took off of sides was a little tender...

Wildcat

My guess is that since you cooked it at 350 to a meat temp that high, you may not be too successful with it pulling. Never did what you did so I do not really know. My guess is it will probably be tough and dry. For smoked pulled pork that is tender and juicy you really need to smoke/cook between 180 and 230 degrees cabinet temp to an internal meat temp between 170 and 200. (Depending on what cabinet temp you average.) If you want sliced pork then 350 oven temp is fine after the smoke period but you should probably stop cooking at an internal meat temp of 145 to 160.
Life is short. Smile while you still have teeth.

CLICK HERE for Recipe Site:  http://www.susanminor.org/

Rooftop777

Ok, gonna take it out of oven at internal temp you said. Being that it was cooked once yesterday this is new to me, but could never pill meat when tried cold. I'm going to pull meat then put in vacuum bags.