Brand New to Smoking.........

Started by Michael, July 19, 2006, 11:04:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Michael

Hey guys, a raw newbie here.  A few weeks ago I had some BBQ/smoked meat at a friends house.  He smoked/cooked it with a smoker he bought at Costco.  The meat was pretty dry and tough.  His pulled pork required strong teeth for the pulling.....  I then recalled stumbling across the BS website a couple of years prior and I was impressed with everything I read.  At the time I felt the unit was pretty pricey and I was already spending too much money on a landscaping project here at home so I put off purchasing the BS.  Well after having a good taste of badly smoked/cooked meat I found you guys again and since my landscaping project is now complete I now needed a 1st class smoker to go along with my new patio.....

I bought the digital 4 rack BS from Chez Bubba and a couple of Bubba pucks.  It arrived today and tomorrow I'll season it and start checking out recipes.  I think I'll start with a chicken and slather on some BBQ sauce towards the end of cooking time and in the meantime I'll review a lot of prior threads and learn as much as I can.  I look forward to learning from your experiences.

Once I gain some smoking experience I'll invite my buddy over for a real down-home smoked/cooked meal..... - Mike, Cypress CA

manxman

Welcome to the forum Michael, good luck with your new DBS and let us know how you get on.  :)
Manxman

Oldman

Welcome and good luck your first time out!
Olds

Click On The Portal To Be Transported To Our Time Tested And Proven Recipes~~!!! 

Habanero Smoker

Welcome to the boards. Let me know how applying sauce on the chicken works out. I have only applied sauce after I've taken it out of the BS and placed it in an oven or grill to finish off.

One suggestion, don't use any sauce with smoke flavoring added.

I
         don't
                   inhale.
  ::)

iceman