Smoking Bacon & Pork Loin

Started by Edward176, September 30, 2014, 05:59:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Edward176

Hi all, I am new to smoking and have taken on a major smoking project of wet curing and smoking bacon, pork loin and a brisket at the same time. I'm using an old family wet cure recipe from the "old Country". 60 grams Kosher salt with 2-4 cloves garlic per Kilo of meat. The salt is dry rubbed with the crushed garlic and left to rest in the fridge for 24 hours. Then the usually Juniper Berries, Bay Leaves, Whole Pepper Corns and All Spice (Pickling Spices) with 1 liter water per Kilo of meat. After the initial 24 hours the usually spices are added to the meat and refrigerated for an additional 6 days. Wednesday will be the final curing day and Thursday I rinse and soak the meat, dry overnight in the fridge, and hopeful smoke Friday morning.  Now I didn't use and pink salt or any form of nitrates and plan to hot smoke in my Bradley smoker 180-190'F to an Internal Temperature of (150'F to 153'F). Now I"m doing this for the first time and wondering if there is anything I missed or should be doing?   

Habanero Smoker

With the low amount of salt you are using, I would not call this a cure, but a flavoring brine. If I am calculating correctly this early in the morning :), you are making a brine with 5% - 6% salt. For salt curing only you need a 10% or higher amount of salt to wet brine. The Marianski's state in there books that you can safely smoke/cook uncured meats at temperatures of 180°F or higher, and they are very cautious about food safety. The USDA states not to smoke/cook uncured meats lower than 225°F. I generally will not go lower then 200°F when I smoke/cook uncured meats in the Bradley.

I
         don't
                   inhale.
  ::)

Edward176