My experience with new OBS

Started by bullsfury81, July 12, 2015, 11:08:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bullsfury81

I received my smoker for father's day (first father's day and wife set the bar REEAAALLL high for one's to follow) and was ready for a weekend smokefest. But, like others I have read, I had issues.
     Generator (puck) element would heat, no problem. Pit element would heat, no problem. But would not advance pucks when puck advancement button was engaged (nor when I turned the unit on which I didn't realize happens until after my unit was working properly). Called the company, no problem, that sent out a replacement motor and micro switch. From reading posts, this seems like the standard practice. Package shows up in a couple days. I'm by no means an electrician nor one who will dive in head first removing bolts and screws and, in essence, completely taking apart the structure of the generator in order to replace the motor (also warranty void concerns). But I did and replaced the motor to no evail. The switch that was sent was not for my model but I took out my multimeter and performed my own diagnostics on the original switch. More or less I just winged it but it seemed to make a circuit when the button was engaged so I knew that as long as there was power running to switch, the switch would serve it's purpose. I wasn't about to delve into  the circuitboard to figure out where the issue was.
       Call them back up, kind lady verified that they did send me out the wrong switch but instead she would send out a whole new generator unit. Arrived in two days Awesome service!!! Now she is a fully functional smoker ( I haven't named her but she is a female... blows a lot of smoke) and since father's day I have smoked the Chicken Gordon Bleu recipe that I found in this forum( or the forum dedicated to Bradley recipes), pork ribs, pork shoulder, and beef ribs. I have been learning as I go.