Pepper Sticks/Slim Jims

Started by Hot Smokin Gal, July 14, 2004, 09:52:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Hot Smokin Gal

Hi. I'm a newbie.  Bought one of those Big Chief smokers last year.  Found it pretty useless unless temp outside perfect & not windy. Upgraded to the SS Bradley for temp control and more experimentation. Have made some venison sausage and smoked salmon.MMM-MMM

What I'm looking for is a GREAT snack stick/pepper stick/slm jim recipe.  I tried one I found on the net, but just tastes like sausage.  Doesn't have that bite that the professionally processed hot sticks we had made past couple years.  Would like to start doing all of our own processing/smoking now that I got the Bradley.  Can anyone recommend a really good cookbook on the smoking?[:D]

ruffinit

hello hot smokin gal!welcome to the forum.i've not done the snack sticks[slim jims] but have done much beef jerky with [cabelas]jerky mix.turns out great every time.on the instructions there's a recipe for snak sticks.looks good.just add your own ground dried peppers for a little kick.their hot flavor is good ,just not hot enough,so i'll add a little of my own ground  peppers for a kick.the cookbooks i have are [smoke and spice] and [sublime smoke] by cheryl and bill jamison.great read and very useful.worth getting.got mine at barnes and noble.have got alot of favorite recipes from smoke and spice,only tried a couple from sublime.well good luck ,hope this helps.

mike

Hot Smokin Gal

Thanks Mike.  I'll be sure to check those out.

Kris

jaeger

Hi Gal,
You could also look into using a starter culture to add to your seasoning to give it a tang. If you think a tang is what you want to add, check into encapsulated citric acid.
http://www.butcher-packer.com/pg_sausage_citric.htm

P.S. This works great for summer sausage also!!![:D]

Cold Smoke

Hi HSG- I located a Slim Jim recipe in the Great Sausage Making Recipes book- here it is

Recipe for 10 pound batch

2 tsp instacure
4 Tbsp paprika