Second attempt Canadian Bacon

Started by Bubby-Joe, May 23, 2015, 08:06:45 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bubby-Joe

Well I'm new to my 6 rack with lots of extra's, my  first attempt at Canadian bacon I rushed it and missed an important step but after 2 days in the fridge the extra salt was less of a problem, I missed the rinse and dry part and went straight to smoking, smoked 1.5 hour to long and cooked it more than smoked it but it got greedily consumed and even as a partial failure was better than what you get in the local super markets

Now after my second round of Canadian bacon that looks like everyone elses pictures and has amazing flavor I really want to thank all that post here and say at the very least most of my meat will now go through some process before being consumed to further enhance the great flavours from my smoker giving me a better understanding of what home processed is all about come on salmon can't wait for lox and candied

Well this is great where and better yet how do I add pictures of my results ow does the insert image work to download pictures from my desktop the my post before I load it onto the site.
Bradley 6 rack with extras
1 1/2 Bradley 2 racks with problems electronics good
2 little chief's
Old bear chewed cold smoker box homemade

tskeeter

Congratulations!  You've learned one of important principles of smoking.  Very few of your efforts will be failures.  Some will be a bit more successful than others.

sdcaller

Quote from: Bubby-Joe on May 23, 2015, 08:06:45 AM
Well I'm new to my 6 rack with lots of extra's, my  first attempt at Canadian bacon I rushed it and missed an important step but after 2 days in the fridge the extra salt was less of a problem, I missed the rinse and dry part and went straight to smoking, smoked 1.5 hour to long and cooked it more than smoked it but it got greedily consumed and even as a partial failure was better than what you get in the local super markets