Smoked Tri tip Jerky Brine or Cure?

Started by UNKYFUNKY, July 11, 2015, 09:51:13 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

UNKYFUNKY

I had purchased  jerky from a predominant Chicago butcher that was incredible so I wanted make some in my Bradley.  They smoked a whole  Tri tip section and sliced it to order but unlike normal jerky, this had the consistency of like a Prosciutto only more tender and a little firmer. It was not a traditional jerky, it wasn't grainy.  It had some great fats as well as some other infused flavors.  So I made my  brine and indended to  smoke it low and slow until it was firm. The description says "warm smoked".  I am not really sure how to execute this.  Will a traditional brine (1 cup kosher salt/  8 cups water with other flavors be safe for a warm smoke?  What temp would I set for this? I have no experience with curing other than the traditional Jerky kits which I also smoke.
Does anyone have expierance with this or can point me in the right direction?

It can be seen here which by the way can be purchased and shipped if anyone is interested.
I can not seem to figure out how to load the photo but I added the link to this product.

http://www.paulinamarket.com/collections/snack-sticks/products/beef-jerky-teriyaki

Thanks!!!!
Bradley original smoker with Auber P.I.D. controler

cathouse willy

Unk The bright red color makes me wonder if it's cured with nitrates.If you had the lable from one of your packages it might say. The terms hot and cold smoke refer to the oven temps, cold up to 90f and hot 160f or so and up What they mean by warm smoke is anyones guess.Why not contact the shop and ask them. It looks great keep us posted

UNKYFUNKY

Thanks Willie!