oops...up in flames, a cautionary tale of FIRE!

Started by hansmatt, January 25, 2016, 09:46:21 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

hansmatt

I've been smoking using Bradley smokers for nearly 15 years, and just ended my relationship with my second unit on Saturday.  This was a somewhat amicable separation, though one that I did not anticipate coming.  Like many things in life, sometimes being blindsided makes things easier to accept and move on from. 
  I had been considering modifying my smoker, perhaps adding a new heating element or controller, as temps in Wisconsin make it challenging to achieve temps over 200. This was to be a spring time task, so instead I had mounted the smoker to a beefy furniture dolly base, giving her some mobility and making access a bit easier. I just stocked up on a variety of wood pucks, and was ready for the remainder of the winter smoking season.

We were hosting a neighborhood gathering, where the majority of friends are foodies with high expectations.  I was eager to step up to the challenge by smoking a #16 prime brisket that had been aging for a few weeks in the refrigerator.  It was trimmed and salted Thursday night, coated in a nice dry rub on Friday, and entered my trusty Bradley on Friday night for an overnight 15 hour low-and-slow hickory-smoke bath.  I placed enough hickory pucks to let it smoke for 3 hours, and let the magic begin.
  All was beautiful at 6am Saturday morning, when the meat temp achieved the ideal 151 degrees.  The bark was the color of a nice amber beer, with the sizzle and fat-glaze that started a Pavolian response. It was a "Wisconsin cool" 10 degrees" outside, and the smoker temperature had stalled at 180. At this point the packer-cut was tightly wrapped in foil and returned to the vault.  I anticipated another 4-6 hours with no smoke would bring the temperature up to 203. I closed the top vent a little to prevent excessive heat loss and bring the temp up a bit, and went on a run with my better half.