Author Topic: Is a PID all i need?  (Read 3004 times)

Offline JakeDatank51

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Is a PID all i need?
« on: February 22, 2016, 05:46:51 AM »
I am just wondering to do snack sticks is a pid all I need or do I also need to do other mods to the smoker to keep temps stable and low?

beefmann

  • Guest
Re: Is a PID all i need?
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2016, 06:52:04 AM »
pretty much  yes,,, though it depends on which way you  go,,, if you  buy PId that is already  built,, it  comes with  everything you  need to plug and play,,,, However  if you  do a  custom built one,, ,you  would need the following depending  on the model

if it is a  ssr pid  you  would need the  following

PID
SSR
thermocouple
thermocouple plug and receptacle
wire

relay PID is the  same as above ,, with  out the  ssr as it has a built in Relay

Offline oldsmoker

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 136
Re: Is a PID all i need?
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2016, 05:06:20 PM »
Have made many batches of sticks and all I have is a PID that I ordered on line. look on the this site and you will find many hints from a lot of people .
OLDSMOKER

Offline JakeDatank51

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Is a PID all i need?
« Reply #3 on: March 31, 2016, 10:47:25 AM »
Thank you for you help. When smoking with a PID are there still a lot of hot spots or cooler spots? I know the pid turns the heating element on and off but will I have to move the snack sticks around? Like ones in the back to front and do the bottoms of the sticks get done faster since its closer to the heating element?

Offline TedEbear

  • Member Extraordinaire
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,600
Re: Is a PID all i need?
« Reply #4 on: March 31, 2016, 11:19:10 AM »
A PID controller will not eliminate hot and cold spots.  It just regulates the heating element to provide a more steady temp instead of the wide temp fluctuations.  You should still shuffle the racks around if you want everything to finish cooking at the same time and same doneness.

Offline JakeDatank51

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Is a PID all i need?
« Reply #5 on: April 04, 2016, 07:56:52 AM »
Are there a lot of hot spots in the Bradley?

Offline TedEbear

  • Member Extraordinaire
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,600
Re: Is a PID all i need?
« Reply #6 on: April 04, 2016, 08:42:59 AM »
Are there a lot of hot spots in the Bradley?

The racks closer to the bottom are going to be closer to the element and thus in a hotter area.  That's why it is recommended to rotate the racks during a long cooking session.