First Pork Butt

Started by Smokem if you gotem, May 23, 2016, 08:43:43 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Smokem if you gotem

First time posting. I've been cooking PB for a very long time on ceramic grills. This is my first attempt on an electric smoker. I'm ok with length of time but my question is on the smoking side. I've read here 4 hrs of smoke, how many bisquettes will I go through? Is there a chart available somewhere that shows how many bisquettes based on length of smoke? I also am inexperienced in using a water pan, does this need water or juice? How often does need attended, every 3-4 hrs?

I'm aiming for a 4:00 PM Sunday start at 225, to have this finish up Monday afternoon around noon. Am I close on the timing? Sorry for all the questions.

Thanks for the help.
Smokem if you gotem
4 Rack Digital Bradley Smoker, Classic Kamado Joe Ceramic Grill, Grill Dome XL Ceramic Grill

TedEbear

The Bradley cycles a puck every 20 minutes, so 3 pucks per hour.  Also, you'll need 2 extra "pusher" pucks to get the last puck you want to burn onto the plate.  They sell Bisquette Savers for this purpose but if you don't have them yet you can just add a couple of extra pucks into the stack.  Do not leave the last puck smoldering on the hot plate or it may give the meat a bitter flavor as it burns into ashes.

At the end of the 4 hours you plan on smoking turn off the SG and remove any pucks still inside, dump the spent pucks and add fresh water to the bowl.  Always have water in the bowl to reduce the chance of a grease fire.  Dump any accumulated pucks and change the water every 2 hours, so they do not stack up in the bowl.

As far as cooking time, the rule of thumb is 1.5-2 hours per lb.  However, go by the internal temp of the meat and not by time.  Not all pigs are created equal.   :)  I take mine to 195*F.

And here's a link to the user recipe site:  Our Time Tested and Proven Recipes

watchdog56