Butcher and Packer summer sausage kit question

Started by BlackBark, October 31, 2016, 02:46:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

BlackBark

I am a newbie at making summer sausage. I just received my kits from Butcher and Packer and have a question.

The kits are for up to 25 lbs. I plan on making it in 3 lb batches one at a time. The instructions are for a full 25 lb batch. Does anyone know how this would translate per pound on the seasoning, cure, and encapsulated citric acid?

I have this question in to B&P, but thought I might get a quicker answer here.

tskeeter

Since 3 X 8 is 24, I'd divide the ingredients in half, in half a second time, and in half a third time, yielding 8 equal size portions.  Not exact, but should be close enough for sausage making, if you have been careful.

Of course, if you have an appropriately accurate scale, you can weigh out 3/25 of the ingredients for each batch.  I have an electronic digital scale with a resolution of .1 grams that I use to weigh ingredients.  Probably more accurate than actually necessary.  But we accountants do like our decimal places.

AkBillyBow

Divide the amount of each ingredient by 25, and that will tell you how much of each one per 1 pound of meat.  You will need a scale to be accurate.

If I may ask, why 3# batches?  That will be about 1 log of summer sausage.  You will make just as big of a mess making 1 log as you would 3 or 4.  I would say cut the ingredients in 3rds, and make a batch that will yield 3 logs.  You can store them for a while in the fridge, or freeze them.  I freeze mine all the time.  Then you can eat more and make it less!!

Good luck.....AkBillyBow

BlackBark

I had thought about that on the seasoning, but the encapsulated citric acid is what is bugging me. It is one package for 25 lbs and some sites say to use 1 level tsp per pound, but there is no way there are 25 tsps in that package.