upgrading my OBS

Started by codyop12, November 14, 2016, 06:48:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

codyop12

This is my first time to post so if I am not doing it right please let me know. So my i got my OBS last year for Christmas. I am new to even using a smoker. After a ton of trials and plenty of errors, i decided to look in to some tricks on perfecting using my smoker. I know there are plenty of mods out there that can upgrade any machine I guess that i am trying to decide which to do. I bought a Auber PID duel control today. I have seen that some people put a 900w heating element with a fan in as well. I was wondering if these are worth doing? and if they are maybe someone could reply a link on the steps to do them. Thank you for your time!!!!

TedEbear

First, welcome aboard.   :)

I added a second 500W element to my OBS a few years ago and also installed a PID controller in the smoke generator.  It turned my smoker into what I wish Bradley would have done from the factory.  Click on the link below for some guides on doing these and other mods to your smoker.

Bradley Accessories - User Modifications

tskeeter

Let me extend my welcome, too, Cody.

Like, TedEBear, I added a PID and did a dual element mod, but no fan.  It looks like most of the folks who have done mods skip the fan.  That must mean the other mods are meeting their needs.

While a fan mod does even out the temperature throughout the smoker cabinet, I use the temperature variations to my advantage.  The thickest racks of ribs on one of the lower trays,  where the temp is higher, and thinner racks of ribs on upper, cooler trays.  The same for roasts such as pork shoulder.  Biggest in the warmest area and smaller where it is cooler.  The same strategy applies to cheeses.  Soft, likely to melt up top in the coolest area and harder, more heat tolerant cheeses, closer to the heat.  These days, using the heat stratification characteristics of the Bradley is second nature to me.