Author Topic: adding pid to the new obs  (Read 614 times)

Offline kirky2126

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
adding pid to the new obs
« on: January 08, 2017, 10:21:12 am »
I'm looking to add a pid to my new OBS with the turn dial i wants to put it in the smoke generator  for a neat clean install all the links to instructions on susanminor.org dont work anymore .All help will be appreciated

Offline Habanero Smoker

  • Member Extraordinaire
  • ******
  • Posts: 13,910
  • KCBS - Master Certified Barbecue Judge
Re: adding pid to the new obs
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2017, 01:23:57 pm »
Hi;

Welcome to the forum.

One member posted how he did the mods on his. I'm not sure how detailed the instructions are.

http://forum.bradleysmoker.com/index.php?topic=33649.msg392032#msg392032
 


     I
         don't
                   inhale.
  ::)

Offline TedEbear

  • Member Extraordinaire
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,331
Re: adding pid to the new obs
« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2017, 04:31:49 am »
There still is an archived version of the recipe site.  I don't know why others are reluctant to post it but here is a link to the section that pertains to adding a PID controller to the smoke generator.  The links may eventually go dead some year but they are still alive and well right now. There might be a few pics missing in that link but if you need them I can post where to d/l the entire recipe file, which includes every pic of every mod that was on the Susan Minor site.

PID Controller

I followed that how-to and added one to my OBS about 5 years ago.





Edit:  OK, here's the link to d/l the entire Susan Minor recipe file.  It will have the rest of the pics in that how-to for installing a PID controller in the SG.  You'll need the Recipe_v5 file and the GSReader v2.8, which you can find in that thread.

Recipe File
« Last Edit: January 09, 2017, 04:49:50 am by TedEbear »

Offline kirky2126

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: adding pid to the new obs
« Reply #3 on: January 09, 2017, 10:02:36 am »
i down loaded the links but no files showes up in GSreader

Offline Habanero Smoker

  • Member Extraordinaire
  • ******
  • Posts: 13,910
  • KCBS - Master Certified Barbecue Judge
Re: adding pid to the new obs
« Reply #4 on: January 09, 2017, 02:01:03 pm »
If you have the New Bradley Original Smoker, you may be better off referring to the link I provided.

i down loaded the links but no files showes up in GSreader

If you downloaded the GS Reader and recipe file; and installed everything in the default directories, when you open GS Reader, go to "File"; click on "New". A window should open and list all the .gso files; select "Recipe.......".


     I
         don't
                   inhale.
  ::)

Offline RedJada

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 619
Re: adding pid to the new obs
« Reply #5 on: January 09, 2017, 02:55:21 pm »
I'm using a Mac and this link works for me. It has everything, hope this helps.

https://web.archive.org/web/20141214092757/http://www.susanminor.org/forums/

Offline RedJada

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 619
Re: adding pid to the new obs
« Reply #6 on: January 09, 2017, 03:00:37 pm »

Offline Rider14

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 55
Re: adding pid to the new obs
« Reply #7 on: January 11, 2017, 02:38:12 pm »
the Auberin PID is a plug and play external PID that runs the original bradley smoker to perfection, although it is a but complicated to program the first time...

Offline kirky2126

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: adding pid to the new obs
« Reply #8 on: January 11, 2017, 05:00:25 pm »
The plug and play would cost me almost $400 with the exchange rate to canada and shipping . So I'm doing the diy with the auber controller

Offline TedEbear

  • Member Extraordinaire
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,331
Re: adding pid to the new obs
« Reply #9 on: January 11, 2017, 09:30:45 pm »
the Auberin PID is a plug and play external PID that runs the original bradley smoker to perfection, although it is a but complicated to program the first time...

Auberin sells several versions of a PID. The internal one that the OP wants to install is around $45 and total cost for everything to make it work is around $70-$80.

Offline kirky2126

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: adding pid to the new obs
« Reply #10 on: January 12, 2017, 04:14:21 pm »
I bought the auber : SYL-2352 it cost me $80 (can.) with exchange and duties . I originally ordered a cheaper brand on eBay but reading all the post on here I changed my mind and went with the auber controller