Author Topic: Temp setting compared to my therm pro  (Read 451 times)

Offline smitty

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Temp setting compared to my therm pro
« on: January 18, 2018, 08:18:01 am »
Hello Folks I am new here and have been smoking for a while now I bought a BDS last summer and it has been awesome. My one problem that I am having right now is that I am seeing a huge difference in temp from the digital control box to what my Therm Pro is showing. it is about 60 degrees off. I went and bought a cheap remote temp sensor as well and that is agreeing with my ttherm pro so I am pretty confident that the temp sensor in the smoker is not reading correctly. I have to set my temp on the BDS to 120 and it gets up to between 170 and 190 and in some cases will push over 200. when I smoke my salmon I like to do it low and slow gradually increasing the temp over a couple hours. but this is impossible with the inaccuracy of the unit.  Am I missing something here or do I have a faulty unit? I hate to have ti buy a new unit when I have had this for less than a year.

Offline zueth

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 550
Re: Temp setting compared to my therm pro
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2018, 10:39:39 am »
There deffintely will be a difference, but that sounds like too large of a difference.  Where do you have your sensor placed, that could be the problem?

Offline Habanero Smoker

  • Member Extraordinaire
  • ******
  • Posts: 14,238
  • KCBS - Master Certified Barbecue Judge
Re: Temp setting compared to my therm pro
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2018, 02:53:10 pm »
Also in the digital, there will be fluctuations in temperature. The fluctuations you describe, seem average for the digital. To better control the temperature fluctuations at lower temperatures, do a search for "cold smoker setup". This detaches your generator from the cabinet, so the bisquette burner is less likely to cause you to over shoot your set temperature.


     I
         don't
                   inhale.
  ::)

Offline smitty

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Temp setting compared to my therm pro
« Reply #3 on: January 19, 2018, 04:41:01 am »
so the temperature sensor is located in the back top left where bradley puts it. I was maybe thinking that the sensor could be faulty, when I put my therm pro probes in I place them around the second rack area to get a read from there and then I have a cheap one that I put about mid cabinet and they seem to be reading about the same give or take a few degrees nothing that would be out of the normal if it is above the foods. Maybe the cold smoke attachment is a route to try and see if it is any better. I didn't think to just try and see if the "oven" without the smoke generator on would be closer I think I will try that today just to see.

thank you for the replies guys! happy smoking to you!

Offline zueth

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 550
Re: Temp setting compared to my therm pro
« Reply #4 on: January 19, 2018, 08:46:15 am »
I do a TON of smoked salmon in my Bradley and have never needed to use the cold smoke adaptor, but I bet it would work.

I just put my Maverick ET-732 smoker temp probe in cabinet and use that to determine what temp I have oven set to.

I typically start at 120 and work my way up to 160 to finish

Offline Toker

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,107
Re: Temp setting compared to my therm pro
« Reply #5 on: January 19, 2018, 12:32:38 pm »
If you really need real temperature then, buy a pid. That’s the only way to fix your problem.


Envoyé de mon iPad en utilisant Tapatalk

Offline mybad

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 207
Re: Temp setting compared to my therm pro
« Reply #6 on: January 19, 2018, 12:54:52 pm »
If you really need real temperature then, buy a pid. That’s the only way to fix your problem.

I owned my Bradley for a number of years, before purchasing a dual probe PID from Aubers.

I don't know why I waited so long! It is worth it's money in gold.

Offline Toker

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,107
Re: Temp setting compared to my therm pro
« Reply #7 on: January 19, 2018, 05:20:38 pm »
Mybad, wait until you buy the new WiFi, you will ask it one more time  😁

Offline mybad

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 207
Re: Temp setting compared to my therm pro
« Reply #8 on: January 19, 2018, 06:15:06 pm »
Mybad, wait until you buy the new WiFi, you will ask it one more time  😁

LOL thank you!