Bisquette savers

Started by GRWood, August 29, 2015, 09:11:03 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

GRWood

I am wondering, if one wishes to have a long slow cook without continuous smoke, could bisquette savers be alternated with actual bisquettes when loading the feeder? Could the bisquette burner be damaged by the savers being on it while it is hot? Has anyone tried this?

beefmann

im not  sure if one has even tried like  you describe, how ever most meats Stop absorbing smoke flavor at around  140 F  which is typically  in the  3 to 4 hour range of cooking  /  smoking at  225 F.. so i  feel  anything after the  140  F  it is a waist of  pucks and effort

Habanero Smoker

I've been using Bubba Pucks (bisquette savers) for about 10 years, with no damage to any of my generators. They rest on my bisquette burner until my food is done, which could be well over 12 hours if I'm smoking a butt. Often longer, if I forget to remove them until my next cook. :)

What are you planning to cook, using intermittent smoke?
At what cabinet temperatures?
Also how much actual smoke will you be applying?

I
         don't
                   inhale.
  ::)

TedEbear

Quote from: GRWood on August 29, 2015, 09:11:03 AM
I am wondering, if one wishes to have a long slow cook without continuous smoke, could bisquette savers be alternated with actual bisquettes when loading the feeder? Could the bisquette burner be damaged by the savers being on it while it is hot? Has anyone tried this?

Why would you want to do this?  The majority of the smoke is absorbed during the first few hours when the meat is initially cooking.  Applying smoke after that is mostly a waste of pucks and money.

And the burner will not be damaged if you leave a puck saver on it.  However do NOT try to remove a puck saver with your bare hands until it has cooled off.   ;)

revid

Hi new to the bradly smoking thing and was wondering about the bisquette saver thing? Can someone explain it to me and why please?