Author Topic: cabinet wont heat  (Read 369 times)

Offline jfeds13

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
cabinet wont heat
« on: October 10, 2019, 08:40:51 am »
I have the four rack realtree smoker. After only a few uses it wont heat up. I read some of the other posts looking for clues. So far I have verified that both cords the in line fuse and the heat bulb itself are good by plugging both cords together directly into the smoking tower. I then opened the controls and found that I have power all the way to the AC out plug but when I plug the jumper from there to the smoking tower I lose that power. Has anyone seen this before? Thanks in advance for your help

Offline Habanero Smoker

  • Member Extraordinaire
  • ******
  • Posts: 14,633
  • KCBS - Master Certified Barbecue Judge
Re: cabinet wont heat
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2019, 01:29:58 pm »
Hi jfeds13;

Welcome to the forum.

More information would be helpful. Does your display light up, and are you able to set the smoke and temperature controls?

With the information you provided, the only thing I can think of is that the short jumper cord is not being pushed in far enough into the socket either located at the generator and/or the back of the cabinet. When the smoker is new, often the plugs are hard to seat.


     I
         don't
                   inhale.
  ::)

Offline TedEbear

  • Member Extraordinaire
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,565
Re: cabinet wont heat
« Reply #2 on: October 10, 2019, 01:57:22 pm »
Apparently, you have a multimeter to check that there is power at the end of the main AC cord.  Use it to check if there is power at the plug on the SG that goes to the tower.  If so, plug in the short cord on the SG side and check if there's power on the end that plugs into the tower. 

Offline jfeds13

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: cabinet wont heat
« Reply #3 on: October 10, 2019, 02:12:11 pm »
I just have a proximity tester but when I have the temperature control turned up the indicator light is on and I have power at the end of the jumper cable. Once I plug the cord into the smoker tower the power is gone. Thinking maybe I have a bad thermostat control but not sure if that communicates with the control module and would cause it to stop sending power like that?

Offline Habanero Smoker

  • Member Extraordinaire
  • ******
  • Posts: 14,633
  • KCBS - Master Certified Barbecue Judge
Re: cabinet wont heat
« Reply #4 on: October 11, 2019, 03:27:20 am »
So you have one of the original models not the digital. I'm not that familiar with the "New Original" that have the temperature control on the generator.

If your proximity tester is indicating voltage at the end of the jumper cord, and if it is a less expensive tester it doesn't show how much voltage that current is carrying. So it may well be the rheostat inside the generator (there is no thermostat located inside the generator) that is malfunctioning; causing it not to be able to increase the flow of power. If you are under warranty, give Bradley a call to replace your generator.




     I
         don't
                   inhale.
  ::)