Too much water in casing after poaching?!?!?!

Started by Smokeymoose907, December 20, 2019, 01:30:03 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Smokeymoose907

Hi all
Rookie sausage maker here and I could really use some help. After poaching I noticed that my casing had filled with water and partially separated from the meat. Other than this my first attempt turned out great the sausage had great flavor and good consistency. I have a couple of questions then I will run down my process. Keep in mind this is my first time making sausage so any tips or advice are greatly appreciated. The
So first question
What to do about the excess water in my sausage? Will it reabsorb during the bloom or do I need slit the casing and drain the excess off?
QUESTION 2
what can cause this to happen and what is the best way to avoid this in the future?
MY PROCESS
this is my first attempt at making polish sausage I used 12 pounds of pork shoulder butt and added 1 lbs of suet to the grind. Ground and seasoned the meat then put it in my stuffer.
For a casing I used the Lem 32mm edible collagen casing. Now this casing specifically said to not presoak. Just pull it out of the package and feed it onto your tube.
I then stuffed the sausage I was worried about over stuffing so I'm thinking I didn't get them full enough. As some of my casing were a little loose. I just tied the tag ends of the casing in a knot and called it good.
From there they were hung in my smoker cold and I brought my smoker up to 130 F for the first hour then stair stepped up 5 degrees every hour. After about 4 hours I pulled them from the smoker. The IT was about 135 F i had a large pot of water on the stove holding at 160 F the sausage went in for about 25 min. When i pulled them their IT was 155 F. They went straight into ice water bathes and sat for another 30- 45 min till my IT was under 110 F. I will let them hang for 2-3 hours then place them in the fridge till tomorrow when they will get vac sealed and frozen.