Buying a smoker

Started by amyz, August 31, 2006, 01:43:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

amyz

We are looking at buying a Bradley Smoker, I'm wondering about the temperature, it says it only reaches 165 degrees.  It seems most smokers range up to 250-275.  Is this a problem when smoking turkey breasts, whole geese/duck, or pheasant??  We are pretty new to smoking, we have a Masterbuilt electric, the heating element went out on it right away, which is why we are leaning toward buying a Bradley. 

Thanks for any help!!!

MRH

I have had mine up to 230 so far but haven't tried any hotter then that. It is the original model.  I am having fun with it so far, I am still a newbie too.  I did 3 whole chickens a while ago with the beer can stuckin them and they cooked with no problem.

Mark

bubbagump

Amy,

I believe the 165 degrees you are talking about is in celsius. That would be around 329 fahrenheit. Mine will easily reach 300, but I don't usually go much more than 205, except when warming it up and then I stay at 250.

Bubbagump

Oldman

QuoteMine will easily reach 300, but I don't usually go much more than 205, except when warming it up
Amen...

Click On The Portal To Be Transported To Our Time Tested And Proven Recipes~~!!! 

amyz

Thanks for all your responses, that makes perfect sense, that it'd be celsius...
Amy

IKnowWood

and AmyZ  it does chicken and Turkey Breast and Turkey real nice.   Just don't expect any skin to taste.  its not so good.  The meat is amazing.

i did a chicken Roaster (about 3 lbs) this last Friday and it turned out great.  3 hours smoke.  2 hours were with Hickory and 1 with Mesquite.    Real nice and smoked and moist as any could want.
IKnowWood
Coming to you from the DelMarVa (US East Coast that is)

Look up Our Time Tested And Proven recipes

Glassguy