Where is best to have temp probe in cabinet

Started by IKnowWood, September 25, 2006, 09:03:26 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

IKnowWood

For those who have a TS or PID.

Recent discussion and break from Smoking for a while raise this question. 

Is there a sweet spot in the Cabinet for the dangling probe from our controllers to read a good enough, 80% best location temp read?   And this is without having a circulation fan. 

And if a Circulation fan is installed, does that sweet spot suddenly open up is potential location, and where is that?
IKnowWood
Coming to you from the DelMarVa (US East Coast that is)

Look up Our Time Tested And Proven recipes

Oldman

QuoteAnd if a Circulation fan is installed, does that sweet spot suddenly open up is potential location, and where is that?

With my fan in an empty box I have a 2 degree difference between the top and the bottom...  While I don't use a PID controller I cannot see with a fan where it matters where you put it.

Click On The Portal To Be Transported To Our Time Tested And Proven Recipes~~!!! 

IKnowWood

While cooking something in the smoker, say a ham or a Pork Shoulder or even ribs, where would you place your probe for the TS you used to have?  With the circulation.  Is it good enough to have the proe in there not touching anything. 

With a 2 degree difference, I see that pretty much almost anywhee is good enough.
IKnowWood

MRH

When I have done a roast or bigger piece of meat I usually hang it on the rack just under the meat.  I figure that will keep the temp right close to what I am smoking.  Don't know if it is any better then anywhere else, just what I do. ;)

Mark

robs

I place the remote probe as close as I can to food level. If I'm cooking more than one level of food, I place it at the lowest level of food.